Posted by: Wayne | July 3, 2010

Bottom Panel

Yesterday I cut and glued the scarf joint for the bottom panel.  I started by stacking two sheets of 9mm ply with the ends offset by about 72mm (actually closer to 76).  I then planed this step into a smooth ramp (with much help from my wonderful wife).

Starting to cut the scarf joint.

A power planer makes things so much easier. 😉

I had all kinds of help.

Almost done cutting the scarf.

I then lined up the pieces for gluing and drilled pilot holes for clamping screws.  After a break, my wife and I glued the two pieces together (no pictures; we didn’t have  a hand free).  We painted the faying surfaces with unthickened epoxy.  We then thickened the remaining epoxy and slathered it on.  Finally, we lined everything up and screwed it together.  We used a scrap piece of 1/4″ plywood on the bottom (covered with tape to avoid gluing it to the bottom panel).  On top, I used a little plywood washer on each screw.

Today I pulled all the screws out and started lofting the bottom panel from the plans.  This involved drawing a centerline, marking stations perpendicular to the centerline every 200mm, and marking the offset (width) at each station.  After all of these marks were made, I drove a small nail into the plywood just outboard of each mark and sprung a batten between these marks.  I then simply used a pencil to actually mark the edge of the bottom panel.

Nails are driven next to each mark ...

... and a batten is sprung between the nails to define the bottom panel edge.

I had to get a bit creative clamping the batten for the port side. Children can be so helpful.

Finally, I used the jigsaw to cut out the bottom panel.  I started by removing all material aft of the transom, then I removed the waste in four steps (one “corner” at a time).  Finally, I had a piece of plywood that looked just about right.

The bottom panel and the stem. It looks a lot smaller than the bulkheads would indicate.

That’s all for now.  The next step will be cutting and installing the plywood risers used to set the rocker.

Leave a Reply

Categories

