Posted by: Wayne | May 28, 2012

Reefing a sprit-boomed lug yawl

As mentioned by my lovely wife, the conditions this past weekend got rather exciting.  As a result, I had to tie a reef in the mainsail while out on the water.  Since we had a video camera running, I thought it might be helpful to show the procedure I used to tie in the reef.

Please note that it is quite possible to do things more efficiently that in the video.

The video has annotations of what steps I am taking to reef the main.  If they don’t show up, click the “Show Annotations” button.

I was very glad I had the mainsail set up for reefing before leaving the dock, and that I was familiar with the reefing procedure.

Doing this for the first time under these conditions would have been a bit too exciting.

Additionally, bringing the halyards and main downhaul through the deck makes reefing on the water much easier and safer.

Leave a Reply

Categories

